Home » Alexandria, Annandale, Awards_Scholarships, Education, Featured, GMU-related, Headline, Loudoun, Manassas, Medical Education Campus, Web Features, Woodbridge

Local College Professors Win Outstanding Faculty Awards

29 December 2016 No Comment


The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Resources have named the winners of the 2017 Outstanding Faculty Awards.

Outstanding Faculty Awards recognize faculty at Virginia’s institutions of higher learning who exemplify the highest standards of teaching, research and service, according to SCHEV.

Nominees are selected by the institutions, reviewed by a panel of peers and chosen by a final selection committee. In all, 97 nominations were received this year, slightly more than last year. This was narrowed to a field of 28 finalists and then to the 12 recipients.

The 12 winners are:

Kelly June Bremner
Professor of Theatre
Emory & Henry College

John Gregory Brown
Julia Jackson Nichols Professor of English
Sweet Briar College

Theresa B. Clarke
Professor of Marketing
James Madison University

Stephen J. Farnsworth
Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
University of Mary Washington

Michael Kevin Hamed
Professor of Biology
Virginia Highlands Community College

Margaret Leary
Professor of Information Technology
Northern Virginia Community College

Caroline Parsons Lubert
Professor of Mathematics
James Madison University

Daniel A. Menascé
University Professor of Computer Science
George Mason University

Xiang-Jin Meng
University Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Virginia Tech

Jennifer Grimsley Michaeli*
Assistant Professor of Engineering Technology
Old Dominion University

Anatoly Radyushkin
Professor and Eminent Scholar of Physics
Old Dominion University

Walter Hammond Smith*
Assistant Professor of Biology
The University of Virginia’s College at Wise

(* = Rising Star award)

By: NOVA Fortnightly

Stay updated by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter.

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.

Blue Captcha Image